homehomeplacesheritage sites

South Africa's World heritage sites

A World Heritage Site is declared by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (Unesco). For a place to be included on the World Heritage list it has to meet certain requirements. There are two types of World Heritage Sites. The first represents cultural and the second natural heritage (read more).

South Africa has 6 places declared as World Heritage Sites, they were chosen because they meet the Unesco requirements for the declaration of a World Heritage Site.These are:

Cape Floral Region
A serial site - in Cape Province, South Africa - made up of eight protected areas
Robben Island
Declared Heritage Site in 1999. It sits 12 km from Cape Town across St Helena Bay.
The Cradle of Humankind
Sterkfontein Valley (Cradle of Humankind), includes remains of hominids from about 2 to 3.3 million years ago.
Greater St. Lucia Wetlands Park
The Greater St. Lucia Wetlands Park is South Africa's first Natural World Heritage Site.
uKhahlamba Drakensberg Park
The park is 240 000 hectares large and is filled with beautiful rivers, wetlands, indigenous forests e.t.c.
The ancient city of Mapungubwe (meaning ‘hill of the jackal’) is an Iron Age archaeological site